Oh My Greeny Goodness!

Standard

I’ve been pondering over what to talk about next, there are so many things that I can’t wait to share with you!

Over breakfast this morning I realised the answer was right in front of me, literally, in all it’s green glory. My morning green smoothies have become a staple in my life and make sure I start my day off in the best way possible so I thought it would be terribly selfish of me to keep them all to myself.

I stumbled across these little beauties at the beginning of the year and have been hooked ever since. I was working hard at getting in shape for my wedding but couldn’t lose the stubborn tyre around my middle that seemed to present itself at every opportunity. I consequently learnt how excess estrogen can wreak havoc on stubborn fat and is often the cause for many a pot belly. I will caveat this with it’s not the only reason but still a major contributor, I’ll come back to this at a later date.

It turns out that all those dark leafy greens and cruciferous veggies that your mamma used to give you, actually help flush out all that extra estrogen and put you on the path to getting that flat belly we all crave but dare not dream we will ever achieve. Fear not peeps, you heard it here first, eat your greens and get a supermodels tum.

I don’t know about you but a bowl full of greens in the morning doesn’t feel me with delight… it makes me want to reach for the crumpets and a jar of jam. Who wants a flat belly anyway… luckily I stumbled across my smoothie maker before I got to the jam jar.

A couple of handfuls of veggies, a portion of fruit and some almond milk later and I’m Mrs Incredible, I can take on anyone and anything. Not only that but to go with my new-found confidence I need a new wardrobe to adorn my new frame. Hallelujah!

Drinking your greens instead of chewing them is also less work for your digestive system, making the vitamins and minerals readily available and giving your body a chance to do some necessary repairs with all the new tools you’ve given it. Woo hoo, party in the small intestine!

If this hasn’t got you browsing the Argos catalogues for a smoothie maker I don’t know what will. Don’t get me wrong, a green smoothie for brekkie and a McDonalds for lunch probably isn’t going to make you feel all that good. Be sensible people, if that was the case we’d all be supermodels.

Even Mr P has even got himself hooked on these beauties. Of course he has manned them up a bit but more often than not in our house, Saturday morning consists of us, our jammies, Saturday morning kitchen and a big glass of greeny goodness.

My favourite recipes to date is;

  • 1 large handful of kale
  • 1 large handful of spinach
  • 1 small banana
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 cup filtered water
  • 1 tea-spoon Maca powder (full of B vitamins and a natural energiser)
  • 1 tea-spoon Spirulina (full of omega 3’s and too many minerals to list)
  • 1 scoop Body Brilliance (Bodyism product – you can replace this with any protein powder of your choice or leave it out all together)

 

There are so many options. To get you started I’ve listed some of my favourite ingredients below;

Veggies (choose 2):

  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • Celery
  • Broccoli
  • Cucumber
  • Red Peppers
  • Carrots

 

Fruit (choose 1 or 2 depending on how sweet you like your smoothies):

  • Mango
  • Pineapple
  • Banana
  • Blueberries
  • Strawberries

 

Fillers (choose 1 to keep you going for longer):

  •  ½ avocado
  • 1 cup of oats
  • Small handful almonds
  • 1 tablespoon of chia seeds

 

Liquid:

  • Almond milk
  • Filtered water
  • Rice milk
  • Oat milk
  • Hemp milk

I wouldn’t recommend adding regular milk to these smoothies but if you’re fine with milk generally then try and see how you go. Also, the ratio of veggies to fruit should be around the 70:30 mark. You want as many veggies in there as possible.

Feel free to experiment and think of other yummy ingredients that can be used. I challenge you to 7 days of a green smoothie for breakfast, I’d love to hear your feedback and ideas.

Now go forth and create your green monsters!

IMG_4373.JPG

One thought on “Oh My Greeny Goodness!

Leave a Reply

