Grain or No Grain?

Standard

Hello Warriors!

Apologies for neglecting you, I have been caught in a whirlwind of work and study and unfortunately not had time for much else!

I’m nearly at the end of my Nutrition and Weight Management diploma. It’s interesting to say the least, I’d recommend that anyone who has a keen interest in nutrition looks into doing something similar even if you don’t wish to pursue it as a career. There is so much conflicting information out there it’s good to have a foundation knowledge that you can use to make your own decisions.

So I’ve been experimenting with going grain-free or at least reducing the amount in my diet. This is a subject that always sparks a debate. Do the benefits of eating grains and outweigh the potential damage they’re doing to us? Are they really causing any damage at all or is it just a theory? I’ll leave you to  make up your own minds on that one from the various resources available. Here are some that I have found very useful;

http://wellnessmama.com/575/how-grains-are-killing-you-slowly/

http://www.builtlean.com/2013/07/16/whole-grains-healthy/

(BTW, I’d totally recommend following Wellness Mama and her blog if you’re not already doing so)

Everyone’s body is different and reacts differently to different foods. I personally do find that I have more energy and a clearer mind by having a breakfast rich in good fats and protein (essential for balanced hormones!) and I don’t find myself crashing at 3pm reaching for something sugary. That’s just me though and others might be different. I’d definitely recommend giving it a go for a day or so and seeing how your body reacts. Maybe try it over the weekend so you can be prepared with meals and snacks to hand without being tempted by the work canteen come mid-afternoon.

All I would say is that if you do opt to avoid grains for a while, make sure you are eating plenty of fruits and vegetables including starchy veggies like sweet potatoes and butternut squash. Often people can go too low carb causing their body to go into famine mode – holding onto any body fat available as energy reserves. This is why you are likely to see quick weight loss on a diet like the Aktins. Your body needs carbs, whether you chose to get these from grains or veggies and fruits or a bit of both. Do what works for you.

For those of you that want to give the grain-free way of living a go but can’t bear the thought of living without bread, try this simple recipe for a nutritious and satisfying grain-free alternative from the Guilty Kitchen; http://guiltykitchen.com/2013/04/15/paleo-sandwich-bread/

It’s my first go at a paleo-style bread and I must say I was really impressed! I had a slice this morning with some scrambled eggs and kale and it kept me going until lunch. A little goes a long way! It can be quite expensive if you don’t have all of the ingredients in your cupboards but once you have them you can experiment with other alternatives.

Don’t let the fat content in this loaf put you off… it’s full of essential fats that we need to keep us healthy and our skin shiny. In fact, I think fat deserves a post of it’s own, there are too many benefits to list here!

Have you ever experimented with going grain-free? I’d be really keen to hear your stories and experiences.

Bye for now! x

Leave a comment